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- đź“— Acquiring 23 million users with Facebook ads
đź“— Acquiring 23 million users with Facebook ads
Blinkist likely spends $1 million+ per month on Facebook to acquire customers.
đź“— How Blinkist profitably acquired 23 million users with Facebook ads
What is Blinkist?
A subscription service that summarizes books into 15-minute "Blinks.”
Company figures
Used by more than 23 million people[3]
Raised more than $35 million in VC funding[3]
Estimated annual revenue of $40 million[4]
Pricing strategy
$15.99 USD per month with no trial[5]
$99.99 USD per year with 7-day free trial[5]
A few advertising insights
Lookalike audiences (LALs) worked once Blinkist had 100-500+ paying customers[1]
Most people use FB on the go and on mobile, which matches Blinkist’s value proposition of quick book summaries[1]
Took them 9 months to crack Taboola & Outbrain, which demonstrates their commitment to “crack” new growth channels[1]
The key to Blinkist’s Facebook ad growth
Sustainable customer growth came down to a key metric, which for them was CAC:LTV ratio[2] . They determined that 1:3 was the target.
In other words, they could be profitable and continue dumping money into Facebook ads as long as their customer acquisition cost (CAC) was 1/3 the price of their customer lifetime value (LTV).
Blinkist’s unit economics*
*We don’t have all the facts so we’re making assumptions for edcuational purposes.
$333.30-$499.95 LTV
20-30% churn rate (annual plan)
5-10% churn rate (monthly plan)
$100-$170 CAC
Why annual plans are so important
Annual plans give you 12-months of revenue up front, which reduces cashflow constraints. For example, a $99.99 annual plan provides an instant payback period if the CAC is $100.
In other words, you could spend $100, earn that $100 back when a new customer signs up, then reinvest that $100 again to acquire another customer.
The payback period increases to 6 months with a $15.99 monthly plan. This means a business must invest new money if it wants to continue acquiring customers before the initial $100 is paid back.
Let’s look at their ads 👇